• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Flap Question

MTV wrote:
Technically, your definition is accurate, but using that definition, a wing will have a constantly varying angle of incidence due to the aileron movement.
and
in any case, angle of attack is what makes the thing fly.
Agreed and agreed. Semantics. But do you think anybody here will EVER let you get away with even the tiniest misstatement? :lol:

Rob - I was answering Gordon. I have no crop dusting experience.

wasted thrust, not wasted energy..

I think you want to convert thrust into some form of energy. Potential energy is what you need when clearing the trees. Kinetic energy is what you get when you go fast - but remember drag increases as the square of airspeed, so in the runup to the zoom, you are converting some of your thrust into heat, when it would be better to convert it into potential energy (altitude).

Someplace in my deep distant past I remember studying zoom climbs as opposed to Vx climbs. I think it was part of a private pilot study course. That stuff is gone forever - folks are being taught to climb at Vy + 10, which sort of makes 180 hp engines and Borer props a waste of time and money. And they are taught to do so at flaps 10, because flaps mean lift and lift is what makes you go up. I am the odd man out - I believe that excess thrust is what makes you climb, and less drag = more excess thrust. At least for rate of climb . . .

Rob - I was answering Gordon. I have no crop dusting experience.

wasted thrust, not wasted energy..