• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

796 Noise

OLDCROWE

FRIEND
Meanwhile,...
I'm getting constant noise in one side of my intercom music circuit(s) that seems to be coming in via the 796. It is a constant low pitch static, not like an alternator whine and it does not change with RPM.

Installation particulars:
  • Super Cub panel with all a surface mounted 796 using all Garmin hardware and wiring to the fuse holder, from the fuse holder pigtail to the breakers is a soldered and shrink-wrapped standard aviation wire with no other splices.
  • Sigtronics Intercom.
  • XM Antenna that I move from plane to plane but the default location is not the Cub so this may have been going on awhile, but I've been noticing for better than a couple of years, but it had gotten worse.
  • I like to fly with tunes so there is a mini plug for music that is internally switched (2) for two sources, XM is constant, and it magically overrides XM when you manually plug into it and connect your phone.

As I said the music circuit make a constant static roar (XM Antenna plugged in or not) but plug in a phone jack (phone or not) and all is clear.

What I have done so far:
  • We relaced the music plug with the same (SWITCHCRAFT INC PN 35RAPC4BH3) and the static got better, perhaps reduced by 30% but it is still seriously annoying, before it was a roar.