• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

180 Hp Prop problem and Smith Cub Builder Offer

GeneHerzog

Sulphur Springs, Texas
I am half finished (hope to finish in April) with a Smith Cub and have gotten a tremendous amount of info from this site. I really am just posting this to say that as payback I will answer any questions I can regarding this project so far. The build site is a hangar at Sulphur Springs just down from the American Legend Aircraft hangars and the personnel there have been a tremendous help. As a first time builder, I probably can't help with technical questions but may have experienced some problems (and possibly solutions) before someone else who is currently building one.

My biggest problem has been trying to get past the Sensenich fixed pitch prop versus hollow crankshaft 0-360 engine harmonic problem. I am currently waiting on McCauley to tell me if they have a 76-56 or something around there to use without the continuos operation limitation between 2150 and 2350 RPM. Anyone have a solution to that one besides the variable pitch prop from Brian Sutton? I know I could go to a "borer" prop, but want a compromise prop between speed and climb if I can.

I know guys that have gone from borers to constant speed... it is unanimous... go with the constant speed.... especially if you want fast and short..... just my two cents worth...

Smith Kit Prop...

Gene,
I am using a Sensenich 80x48 wood prop with my Smith Kit, and it performs well. Wood props are beautiful, and don't have any harmonics problems. My XP-360 has a hollow crank too, but has no rpm limitations.
There are other brand of wood props that would work as well. If you would like to see how tis particular prop performs, come to NC and fly it.