Thanks Thanks:  0
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: If you have wingtip strobes, where to mount G-11 magno for the G5s??

  1. #1
    Alex Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Life Long Alaskan
    Posts
    3,063
    Post Thanks / Like

    If you have wingtip strobes, where to mount G-11 magno for the G5s??

    I have wingtip strobes. Where is a good place to mount the G-11 sensor besides the end of the wing ???

  2. #2
    behindpropellers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    6,648
    Post Thanks / Like
    I do not have a picture, but it is mounted behind the pressure bulkhead in a 340 I worked on recently.

    If you do mount it on one of the bulkheads, take the time to document all measurements on the install in the logbooks so the next time it is modified the installer does not need to stand on their head to work on your former plane.

    Nothing worse than working on these planes that have had monkeys randomly drilling holes wherever they please.

    Tim

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    16
    Post Thanks / Like
    I have mine mounted on the outboard rib right in front of the spar. I am using Whelen LED strobes and it all works fine with minimal interference when you run the diagnostics during setup.

  4. #4
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,243
    Post Thanks / Like
    It's not nearly as critical as you might think with an aluminum wing. Keep away from the wiring and mount with brass hardware. If you are running LEDs keep it at least a foot from the wiring. If you have old school strobes, as far as possible. It can be behind stuff like an aluminum spar, just not anything ferrous.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Likes mike mcs repair liked this post

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    4,274
    Post Thanks / Like
    Ditto what CKearns said. Just make sure you don't have any ferrous screws nearby. I had to swap some out for stainless.
    Likes mike mcs repair liked this post

  6. #6
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    8,823
    Post Thanks / Like
    My 185 has it's sensor mounted on the second inspection plate outboard of the strut attachment in the right wing leading edge. Run the ground wire twisted around the power wire back to near the root of the wing. Works good lasts a long time.
    N1PA

  7. #7
    Alex Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Life Long Alaskan
    Posts
    3,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Did you have to use a special shielded wire set-up? That is what my local IA is telling me...
    Plus we are doing some sort of witchcraft with a compass looking for a neutral spot around the wings.
    I have old fashion strobes out on my wing-tips.

  8. #8
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,243
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Clark View Post
    Did you have to use a special shielded wire set-up? That is what my local IA is telling me...
    Plus we are doing some sort of witchcraft with a compass looking for a neutral spot around the wings.
    I have old fashion strobes out on my wing-tips.
    Shielded wires are a good idea, but check the install manual to see what it recommends. And keep the flux valve at least a couple of feet away from the power supply for the strobes. At least a foot from the strobes and wiring usually works. Distance is your friend here and more is better.

    Also use brass hardware for any mounting brackets.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  9. #9
    Alex Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Life Long Alaskan
    Posts
    3,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    My IA has never done a GMU-11 install yet. Nor a Becker radio. So that is still sitting around with no progress.
    If my panel was not all opened up, I would fly it up to Palmer to have you take control of the situation.
    I only have a couple weeks left in a nice heated hangar with a bathroom,

    I should mention that I have a nice guest cabin for any visiting avionics type person... cough cough...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Alex Clark; 05-13-2019 at 07:51 PM.
    Likes C130jake, CubDriver218 liked this post

  10. #10
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    10,017
    Post Thanks / Like
    garmin SUPPLIES stainless hardware in their mounting kit for the GMU11......

    per the schematic you will use 2 separate, 2 conductor shielded wires (one for power & ground, one for communicating with the CAN Buss)

    I run magnometer wires near rear spar... (strobe wires are normally near front spar)

    like Web says, location is not as critical as you think.... worst case is you have to install ANOTHER(total of 2) GMU 11 in SAME WING... or so the instructions say... if you have too much interference (magnetically)

    edit:I'm speaking from a G3X experimental Install(s)... but I'm sure it's the same is my guess...

  11. #11
    Alex Clark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Life Long Alaskan
    Posts
    3,063
    Post Thanks / Like
    Still trying to make it happen.

    Originally we were thinking about having the G-11 inside the plastic wingtip on a mount like this....

    HOWEVER: I have big strobe power units in both my wingtips.

    Wish I had in-person , in the hangar, access to somebody who has installed them a few times...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  12. #12
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    10,017
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Alex Clark View Post
    Still trying to make it happen.

    Originally we were thinking about having the G-11 inside the plastic wingtip on a mount like this....

    HOWEVER: I have big strobe power units in both my wingtips.

    Wish I had in-person , in the hangar, access to somebody who has installed them a few times...
    yeah strobes a no no..

    just mount it on a rib near rear spar or the wing skin, run its 2 wires down rear spar(aft) to keep it separated from nav & strobe wire

    (how magnetic is control cable??? with all those twisted strands, I would think not that polarized...hmmmm)

Similar Threads

  1. Replacing Whelen wingtip strobes
    By Anne in forum All Things Electrical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-20-2018, 09:15 AM
  2. Strobes
    By StewartB in forum Tips and Tricks
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-27-2003, 08:52 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •