Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Anyone using one of these BECKER AR4201 ?

  1. #1
    supercub's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Let me check my GPS, gee how'd we ever navigate with those sectional things?
    Posts
    718
    Post Thanks / Like

    Anyone using one of these BECKER AR4201 ?

    How are these radios? I understand they have a built in intercom, how is that ?

  2. #2
    DW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    pacific northwest
    Posts
    2,057
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've had one in my cub for 9 years and love it I don't use the intercom so can't comment on that.

  3. #3
    mvivion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bozeman,MT
    Posts
    10,118
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've used them, and they are a great comm radio. My one experience with trying to use the intercom on one wasn't that great, though.

    MTV

  4. #4
    Dave Barras's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    New Iberia, LA
    Posts
    138
    Post Thanks / Like
    I too have one with no complaints but don’t use the intercom either.
    Dave


    YOU NEVER KNOW

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    STL
    Posts
    248
    Post Thanks / Like
    glad your commenting.....wanted to put one in my project but also planned to use different intercom. I like the feature when your listening to music or ATC it will mute and only prioritize ATC.
    If you get lost while flying, don't try hail a cop. Pick up the first railroad you find and hug it until you get somewhere.

  6. #6
    Charlie Longley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Arlington, WA
    Posts
    478
    Post Thanks / Like
    I’ve put them in a couple of gliders. They work pretty well and have great tech support.

  7. #7
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like
    I've installed a metric butt load of them and had great service from them. Built in intercom is so-so at best. I always recommend a stand alone intercom with ANY radio. Better volume and easier control of things like squelch (knobs vs programing).

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Likes DENNY liked this post

  8. #8
    SteveE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Jenks, OK
    Posts
    4,129
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by DW View Post
    I've had one in my cub for 9 years and love it I don't use the intercom so can't comment on that.
    You dont use the intercom because nobody wants to talk to you.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Bearhawk Builder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    In the woods
    Posts
    595
    Post Thanks / Like
    I just wired one up through a PS Eng intercom. Pretty easy except for those ridiculous solder tab D Sub connectors. Seems like a nice unit

  10. #10
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by Bearhawk Builder View Post
    I just wired one up through a PS Eng intercom. Pretty easy except for those ridiculous solder tab D Sub connectors. Seems like a nice unit
    That's why you use the crimp type connector. You can assemble a connector in about 10% of the time for a solder type and mistakes are easily corrected.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Thanks Bearhawk Builder thanked for this post

  11. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    6,351
    Post Thanks / Like
    They work pretty well and have great tech support.

    Every time one I was associated with went to the repair facility the minimum charge was $500. I understand it is $600 now. We replaced one with a GTR -200 and used its internal intercom. Open cockpit. We are pleased.

    The GTR does not have a good RF squelch range - we live with it. I am trying to get Garmin's attention. Otherwise it is a spectacular radio. We have some serious local emitters, including a couple SoCal approach frequencies with a difference beat right on our tower frequency.

  12. #12
    DW's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    pacific northwest
    Posts
    2,057
    Post Thanks / Like
    No it's just you I don't want to talk to Steve...
    Likes SteveE liked this post

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'm buying the Trig 91, it also has a built in intercom...I'm told the intercom doesn't work as great as a stand alone intercom so I'm going with that too.

  14. #14
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    2,122
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by flywhatever View Post
    I'm buying the Trig 91, it also has a built in intercom...I'm told the intercom doesn't work as great as a stand alone intercom so I'm going with that too.
    Get an intercom by NAT or PS Engineering and you won't go wrong.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Likes flywhatever liked this post

  15. #15
    mvivion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Bozeman,MT
    Posts
    10,118
    Post Thanks / Like
    I'll second the NAT intercom recommendation....great piece of equipment.

    MTV

  16. #16
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    2,303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Most of the built-in intercoms are set up to mute the intercom when someone transmits on whatever com frequency the radio is set on.
    Seems like a real good idea on paper, esp when you're on with ATC, but in real life.....not so much.
    Just flying along BS'ing with your pax, every time somebody makes a position report, your conversation gets muted.
    Gets real old quick.
    Yeah, you can set the radio to some hopefully unused freq,
    but I like to monitor nearby CTAF's or tower freqs as I fly along--
    impossible to do this AND have a conversation at the same time.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!
    Likes bob turner, marcusofcotton liked this post

  17. #17
    Charlie Longley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Arlington, WA
    Posts
    478
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bob turner View Post
    They work pretty well and have great tech support.

    Every time one I was associated with went to the repair facility the minimum charge was $500. I understand it is $600 now. We replaced one with a GTR -200 and used its internal intercom. Open cockpit. We are pleased.

    The GTR does not have a good RF squelch range - we live with it. I am trying to get Garmin's attention. Otherwise it is a spectacular radio. We have some serious local emitters, including a couple SoCal approach frequencies with a difference beat right on our tower frequency.
    I don’t recall it being that much. I thought around $250 for the last one I sent in. I just looked the minimum flat rate repair is $208.

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    45
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thanks Mike, How you be anyway? Miss Alaska yet? I finally retired and now have the time to finish this cub!

    Quote Originally Posted by mvivion View Post
    I'll second the NAT intercom recommendation....great piece of equipment.

    MTV

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    6,351
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hotrod - I agree. Impossible to instruct with a "muting" intercom. Fortunately it is a feature that can usually be disabled.

    Charlie - I may be wrong, since I wasn't footing the bills. There were some unhappy Stearman partners who told me the $500 fee, and the last time it went in they said $600.

    They put the Garmin in at my suggestion, but had an external intercom installed - first, the PM-501, and then something the aerobatics guys recommended. Neither was satisfactory. Mike Scheuer told me the PS Industries intercoms are not designed for open cockpit.

    Finally, they reconfigured it to the internal GTR intercom - we are using it that way in a J-3 with door always open - and those of us with good DC headsets and muffs are delighted with it in the Stearman. For those with dirtbag headsets, we installed PTT for the intercom.

    Then the Great Lakes guys copied us. They apparently love the GTR intercom.
    Last edited by bob turner; 02-12-2019 at 01:02 PM.

  20. #20
    Todd long's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Anyone using one of these BECKER AR4201 ?

    We have installed numerous trig ty91 radios. J3, PA-11, PA-18, plastic clown plane LSA. I dismissed the intercom in it too. Since it is built in probably isn’t all that good. I was wrong. It’s actually a really good one. In a few installs we have added a selector switch for the VOX circuit to toggle it on or off. Then a hot mic switch for each occupant. So if doors open and hanging your head out like a basset hound the system is cold until you key it up. Support from the company is great. I wouldn’t spend money and weight on a separate intercom. And the radio is small and for a J3, the best part is it is remote head. The control head easily fits in the wingroot so it can be controlled from either seat. Main box can go anywhere. It’s the go to radio choice now.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Likes JDWilliams liked this post

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    KVKS
    Posts
    3
    Post Thanks / Like
    I’ve been using one for 5 years now. No complaints. Intercom works fine too.

  22. #22
    hotrod180's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Port Townsend, WA
    Posts
    2,303
    Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by bob turner View Post
    ….Every time one I was associated with went to the repair facility the minimum charge was $500. ....
    Regardless of the fee, having to send something in for service is a PITA.
    If I had to send one in more than once, or send more than one in,
    I would be pretty disappointed.
    The Narco Com 810 in my airplane was installed about 25 years ago,
    near as I can tell from the logbooks etc it's never had to be repaired or serviced.
    For what aviation radios cost, IMHO this should be the norm, not the exception.
    Cessna Skywagon-- accept no substitute!
    Likes skywagon8a liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Becker Com problems?
    By bob turner in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 06-08-2018, 02:47 PM
  2. Repeater Display for Becker AR4201 Comm
    By Clyde Barker in forum All Things Electrical
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 12-02-2016, 09:06 PM
  3. Becker Com Repair?
    By SuperCub MD in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 07:55 AM
  4. Becker Com?
    By CptKelly in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 01-02-2005, 08:40 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •