• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Cracked O-320 Case - Best way to proceed?

Gordon Misch

Toledo, Wa (KTDO)
O-320 A2B narrow deck with about 500 hours since major.

I've been chasing a mysterious oil leak for a few months, unable to find it. Today I cleaned and sprayed dye penetrant developer all over, ground ran it for about an hour, and finally found this crack. It was invisible through the paint, without the developer powder. Also, I changed oil yesterday, and for the first time there were a few small non-magnetic particles in the screen.

Obviously it's grounded pending resolution, and obviously a teardown will happen.

I'd like to hear suggestions as to the best way to proceed. Possibilities that have crossed my mind:

• send it out for welding; if that' a good idea, where would I send it?
  • best sources for an exchange case?
  • would it be a good time to convert it to 160 HP, or is that simply not a good idea for narrow deck?
  • Other thoughts?

I'd sure be grateful for good advice from those of you who have been there done that!

Thanks - -

IMG_20180318_132347.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_20180318_132347.jpg
    IMG_20180318_132347.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 455
Check eBay for a replacement case...saw hold down plates there as well for 160 up grade if that’s what you want.

DIVCO in Tulsa can do amazing things with cases. It will be like new when they are done.
They should be able to install the longer studs as well if you want to convert it.

Divco also repaired a crack in the nose of a TCM IO360 for me. No issues after and seemed reasonably priced. Check in, however, on occasion with Divco. My case had been done for several weeks before I had finally decided to holler at them.