Thanks Thanks:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Super Cub Spaghetti Factory

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5,589
    Post Thanks / Like

    Super Cub Spaghetti Factory

    Putting a new GNR-200 in an amphib - only other equipment is the xpdr/encoder and the Lake&Air gear warning module.

    Looks like crap in there - three giant black connectors, wires going everywhere, ends of wires clipped off and left hanging - yuk! Is this normal for older Super Cubs? Given that I am doing this as a favor, I am wondering if the effort to straighten this out is worth it? Putting the Garmin in is trivial - all I have to do is find power and put a BNC on the antenna coax.

    But egad! What a mess!

  2. #2
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    1,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Pics? The three connectors go to what, exactly?

    Sounds like the result of poor planning on the initial install. I've cleaned out a lot of this type of mess over the years. I comes down to how much time you want to spend on it. Is it a safety issue? Does the owner even care?

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  3. #3
    www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    chugiak AK
    Posts
    8,301
    Post Thanks / Like
    it's those chopped off and still hot wires that get my attention when i pull one apart for rebuild... seen many!

  4. #4
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    1,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Lol. The ones you see aren't as bad as the ones you smell.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

  5. #5
    Eddie Foy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    2,140
    Post Thanks / Like
    Here is what mine looked like.

    IMG_0237.jpg
    Eddie Foy
    "Put out my hand and touched the face of God"

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    5,589
    Post Thanks / Like
    Yep. Ours looks like that. The Lake and Air gear indicator is part of the problem - the installer just coiled up the excess cable. So far, only one hot lead, but a lot of snipped ground leads. I am going to leave that, but I am surprised - putting these floats on was not cheap.

    The connectors are huge, round, black deals, and one of them is part of the gear indicator. Tomorrow I am just going to clean up a bit more, ans do the installation.

    Think a Super Cub needs a static system? The tubes are there, along with all the plastic barbs.

  7. #7
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    1,512
    Post Thanks / Like
    Most don't use a static system. Hard to justify the cost of plumbing in an airplane that leaks so much air that it knocks your hat off. I usually put some type of foam over the barbs to at least keep dust out. If you install transponder/encoder or similar equipment, plumb all of the static ports together to make testing easier.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.

Similar Threads

  1. Factory-stock Super Cub?
    By CubCruiser in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-16-2015, 06:33 AM
  2. Factory Tour: Backcountry Super Cub, Revision 2
    By Aktahoe in forum In The News
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-14-2015, 06:44 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •