Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Can a Garmin 430 accept WAAS in?

  1. #1
    Tom3holer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    335
    Post Thanks / Like

    Can a Garmin 430 accept WAAS in?

    I am looking to update my avionics and have a question.
    As 2020 is approaching and I will need ADS-B can you feed the WAAS feed from a WAAS xponder to a Garmin 430 and make it WAAS?

    Tom
    Thanks terryhall thanked for this post

  2. #2
    Dave Calkins's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    5,048
    Post Thanks / Like
    Great question

    i assume you do not own the GNS430W unit?

    wish I had one. Still a good unit!!

  3. #3
    Tom3holer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    335
    Post Thanks / Like
    Dave,
    No I don't but was wondering if it was possible as you have a WAAS gps signal from a xponder so equipped.
    I doubt it although knowing Garmin.

  4. #4
    skywagon8a's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    SE Mass
    Posts
    6,756
    Post Thanks / Like
    The WAAS signal travels FROM the GPS, TO the transponder not the other way around.
    N1PA

  5. #5
    wireweinie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    1,420
    Post Thanks / Like
    There are a few shops that will take in your straight '430 and sell you a '430W. Might be the easiest route if you want to build the ADS-B system with your '430.

    Web
    Life's tough . . . wear a cup.
    Likes Dave Calkins liked this post

  6. #6
    jon s. blocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    corpus christi, tx
    Posts
    179
    Post Thanks / Like
    We sent our 430 in and had WAAS installed, along with terrain avoidance, (I don't know if the avoidance system was included in all of the WAAs installs or not). We sent it back to Garmin to have this done when they had a program to do this for all 430 owners if I recall correctly, (I've had a beer since then). Jon
    Likes Dave Calkins liked this post

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Austin TX Ya'll
    Posts
    651
    Post Thanks / Like
    Call Garmin at their aviation support number and ask them its on the website.

  8. #8
    Tom3holer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    335
    Post Thanks / Like
    That sounds like the route to go.
    I give Garmin a call.

    Tom

  9. #9
    soyAnarchisto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Boulder, CO
    Posts
    569
    Post Thanks / Like
    Tom, if you buy a transponder with a waas receiver it cannot upgrade your 430 to waas. The 430 upgrade requires a firmware update and possibly a receiver update depending on the age of the receiver you have. You must spend the 2-3 grand with garmin to upgrade. I'm pretty sure that's what garmin will tell you.

  10. #10
    Tom3holer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cape Cod
    Posts
    335
    Post Thanks / Like
    Thats right. I was wondering if any of the new WAAS ADS-B xponders have the waas signal available vis bluetooth or wifi for use with other equipment like an EFB.

Similar Threads

  1. Garmin 696
    By GeorgeMandes in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 05:17 PM
  2. Garmin 96C GPS
    By Crosswater36 in forum Cafe Supercub
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-11-2005, 08:04 AM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •