Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Muffler flame cone removal. C-180, Pponk

Post Thanks / Like

Muffler flame cone removal. C-180, Pponk

I have a Knisely muffler. 3 years old, about 250 hours.

The flame cones are showing some warping, as viewed through the tailpipe. I've been told there is approval to remove the cones; as long as you have the external carb heat muff, which I do.

Does anyone know the reference for the flame cone removal approval(service letter, bulletin..)?
    Can someone share their experience with this muffler configuration?

-Performance gain?
    -Oil/cyl temp reduction in the summer, on floats?
    -Cabin heat loss in the winter(avg temp here in winter is about 20F, but we do fly high on long trips, up there at 9-10k it can be down around 0F.) We do have backseaters normally.

Another option is an Acorn muffler, STC'd without the flame cones.

Thanks,
    Aqua

Post Thanks / Like
    On the big continentals I have no experience but for the small lycomings it seems to be an improvement

Not sure about approval but that is how mine was repaired and yellow tagged many years ago before I bought my cub. No loss of anything from what I can tell. IT's plenty hot for cabin heat. Could have a slight improvement in static RPM. You would have the same thing as an Atlee turbo muffler but without the 3" tailpipe. I can tell you that I do have a different and louder pop sound to my exhaust note than a stock muffler does on a 150hp cub. That could just be the way an 135hp lyc sounds though.

Jason
    Last edited by jgerard; 04-17-2013 at 05:48 PM.

Post Thanks / Like
    Quote Originally Posted by aqua View Post
    I have a Knisely muffler. 3 years old, about 250 hours.

The flame cones are showing some warping, as viewed through the tailpipe. I've been told there is approval to remove the cones; as long as you have the external carb heat muff, which I do.