Thread: Garmin Pilot vs Foreflight vs WingX

Post Thanks / Like

Garmin Pilot vs Foreflight vs WingX

I was just made aware of the release of "Garmin Pilot" as an app for the iPad/iPhone.

As a very satisfied customer of Foreflight I have not been looking to switch, but the initial look at Garmin Pilot is intriguing.

Anyone looked into this new app?

Randy

Post Thanks / Like
    Randy,
    I still like ForeFlight myself. I think
    a lot depends on your mission just like everything else. It's going to take something
    A lot better than ForeFlight for me to switch. Currently looking into the WXWorx A-DSB for integration of wx on ForeFlight.
    Dave

Post Thanks / Like
    My Dad was using Foreflight and tried Garmin Pilot. He prefers Forelight. I played with both but got frustrated. Why can't I plot a course from point A to point B with the aircraft range and it give me probable waypoints in between. I am not very good at these things but Cathy did get me hooked on Navmonster and I liked the Fuel Stop Planner on Air Nav. http://www.airnav.com/plan/fuel/
    Steve Pierce

"When everything seems to be going against you, remember that the airplane takes off against the wind, not with it."
    Henry Ford

Post Thanks / Like
    Nav Monster has been out of service for over a month.

Post Thanks / Like
    I have been using all three ( I have the trial for Garmin) and really they all do the same thing just with different steps to get it done. If I had an android rather than an ipad the garmin ap would be the way to go for that. I like all three, foreflight is good but not that much better than wingX. I think the one you got used to using first will probably be your preference. I do think foreflight and wingX make using the moving map for flight planning easier than Garmin's.

Post Thanks / Like