• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Brake bleeding

willirw

Alaska
I have a set of Matoc MC-4 master cylinders and and Matco W 600 XLT brakes on my Back Country Cub project. Today I add brake fluid (pumped in from the bottom) until the reservior was full. I pumped and pumped the brakes and nothing. I pumped more and bleed them, added more fluid and still no brakes. If I pump the master cylinder rapidly about a deozen`times I get a little brake. Played this game numerous times with Clevelands and always won. I don't seem to be able to get all the air out of these. I was hoping some of the experts out there could offer up some of their wisdom.

Thanks, Randy

always DRAIN all fluid out... then refill only from bottom... once you have an air bubble stuck/trapped in system it will be a pain to try to 'bleed' it out.... way faster to drain, and fill it FAST..(use a garden sprayer pressure pot if you have problems)

also if calipers are not FREE to float in mounting post holes or brake line is holing them in a BOUND position you will just be flexing caliper before brake pads make solid contact giving you a good brake......

Last edited:
What Mike says! Drain them completely.. crack the bleeder and pump them until everything is dry. Fill from the bottom being certain you don't put an air bubble in at any point. I slip the 1/4" wrench on first.. bleed the feeding hose until it's air free, slip over the bleeder.. crack the fitting and pump until fluid hits the reservoir. Repeat on the other side.

I use an electric windshield washer pump with the inlet hose stuffed in full jug of fluid and 1/4" clear aquarium hose on the outlet. Same pump has lasted over 15 years and done many many system fills on wheels and long lines of amphibs.