Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Steve's Gascolator

Post Thanks / Like

Steve's Gascolator

Not trying to sound like an advertisement, but as previously stated I'm new to this Cub thing.

I come from the Helicopter world where every connection is a pretty substantial thing.

I was headed to the bush with my new ride last month and had to turn back because of weather. The flight seemed to be a bit "fumy", but I was carrying cans for a refueling stop in McGrath and just thought it was that way.

The next day the weather improved and as I did my preflight I found the source of my fumes-- The darn gascolator was loose. It was tightened down well, but if you touched it, gas would leak out. Being new to this sort of thing I almost couldn't believe how it was constructed. I know, I know, it has been there for years, but still- I really didn't like it.

I decided that that gascolator and my cub would be parting ways and gave a quick call to Stoddards who recommended the Steve's gascolator. (Nice thing about being broke down with your Cub in Anchorage-- There are 2 Cub stores available!) She had one in stock and after a bit of work the Cub was operational. Of course the weather wasn't, so I needed to wait another day.

But here's the thing-- Why isn't there an AD to just rid the fleet of that darn gascolator? It is so easy to install and for $200 it just seems that it ought to be mandatory.

For any back seaters (Hesitate to say wives) it would be a perfect AND safe Christmas gift.

See ya out there!

JW
    Likes 68Papa, NunavutPA-12 liked this post

www.SkupTech.com mike mcs repair's Avatar
    Post Thanks / Like
    yes,

not a rebuild or leaky worn out gascolator goes out without the new style safe steve's one!

Post Thanks / Like
    I have a box full of the original gascolators with warped tops and stripped threads. I wanted a fix years ago just wish I had come up with it.
    Steve Pierce

Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.
    Will Rogers