• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Starting out tips, suggestions and lessons learned?

TheSponz

Bit of background, I am a software engineer by trade, have decent carpentry and light welding metal working experience, same with electronics and electrical systems. I am pretty good at figuring things out on my own and have always wanted to build my own airplane. I have a few hours in the cockpit but don't have my license as of yet.

I am just starting my journey and am in the research phase of the project. I am going to buy the CD with the plans from wag aero. So background and that said, what are somethings you guys wish you had known before you started your planes? What are some questions I should be asking that might not be readily apparent?

Thanks all for the advice and time! Hope to see you around!

I wish I would have read the books "The Sportplane Builder" and "Sportplane Construction Techniques" by Tony Bingelis before I started. He does a good job of explaining the hows and whys of experimental amateur built as well as choosing a specific type of aircraft to build.

Welcome! I started a Pietenpol project five years ago that didn't go anywhere due to unrealistic expectations of free time. In my case, the time and money I would have spent building was redirected into the purchase of a certified Super Cub, and I think it was the right decision for me. I still have a strong desire to build something, but it's not in the cards right now.

I'm sure others will chime in with more encouragement and suggestions, but I would start by reading Bill Rusk's thread from the beginning: http://www.supercub.org/forum/showthread.php?40889-Building-a-Javron-Cub

Bill also did an EAA seminar that might answer some of your questions: http://eaavideo.org/video.aspx?v=1283380256001