• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

MT 3-Blade model #?

pitts12driver

San Francisco, CA
Hi Everyone -

I am a long time builder/restorer that has secretly coveted a Supercub on floats for years, so this past week at Oshkosh, I ordered a Javron kit from Jay. I've found this forum to be a superb source of information already.

I'm thinking about using the MT 3-blade on an O-375. I was wondering if anyone has the model # of the prop and the required governor handy. I can't seem to find that information on the board. I apologize if I've just searched carelessly.

I won't get my parts for about 4 months, but historically I'm a reasonably fast builder so will keep you posted with any relevant updates. I'm sure I'll have tons of questions.

best,

Adam

Get in touch with the Flight Resources guys. They sell the MT and can tell you whatever you need to know.

MTV

Whirlwind Aviation has a 2 blade composite C/S. Better performance than the MT three blade, lighter and less expensive. Don

I have a 0-360 in my Scout, with a MT 3 blade, model MTV-9-B/198-52, Woodard Gov model T210761 mine is a 198 diameter, on an experimental you could run the 200 dia, I think it is approved on a Husky at this time.

Jim

Take a close look at the Whirl Wind Aviation RV-10 CS. Very impressive 80" 2 blade.

Thanks everyone for the suggestions. The whirlwind is a nice prop at a good price (as compared to the MT). It also weighs in at 42 lbs, considerable lighter than the MT's 57. However, the Whirlwind does have two RPM bands to avoid - 2600-2700, and 2050-2300 - which could be annoying. The MT is far less restrictive and considered to be smoother. I think I'm going to put this decision off for a while and gather a bit more data.