• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Skis Setup

swoeric

stillwater ok
Complete newbie here.

Yes I have read 43.13 on skis and also a better article from the cub club

a few questions remaining

Springs Vs Bungee?

How long does the crust cutter section need to be?

How do those bungee ends stay on

where can you buy the hardware to make bungees or springs?

I check the websites but couldn't find anything on wag spruce or geek

Springs are forever, bungees eventually wear out and lose their elasticity. With the "old" bungee material, this was essentially a non issue...the old bungees would last for a LONG time. Not these days. Whatever has happened to the material they make bungees out of these days, they don't last as long as they used to. Did I mention that springs last forever?

In extreme cold, which if your avatar is accurate (as in OK) ain't very likely, bungees can stretch out and not rebound. I wouldn't worry about that much.

Springs are NOT on the TC for any skis I'm aware of so if you do install springs, make certain to call them out on your ski installation, and field approve them to be safe.

The crust cutter need only be a foot or so, but if springs are used, it's pretty much irrelevant anyway.

MTV

Mike,
Springs are not forever. I have had two break. One was where the exhaust had blown on the spring. The other just broke on the upper hook on the spring. No corrosion or anything. Why anyone would want to save a few bucks and put screen door springs is not thinking correctly. It is no fun whatever to have a ski in the wrong position during flight.

Mike,