• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Cost to build a "stock" Super Cub from scratch

travis

Hello all, I'm new to the forum, I have been lurking around for a while but this is my first post. I'm an Aerospace Engineer, I was a welder before I went to college and I have quite a bit of wood working experience so I'm pretty confident that with my back ground and help from really smart people on forums such as this one I could build a Super Cub.

Okay, I know this is a loaded question but here goes.

If one wanted to build a PA-18-180, keeping cost low and not adding any "extras", keeping to the original design, what would it cost, ballpark to build a Super Cub? I'm working on my PPL, I'm looking at getting a Fly Baby just as an inexpensive way to get in the air without breaking to bank so that down the road I can get/build the plane of my dreams. It just seems to me that a "stock" Super Cub should not cost 100-150K! After al,l this aircraft was really affordable when they were first produced. I get the lawyers and stuff when buying a high end kit or turnkey cub and that they are collector’s items and those things drive the cost up. What am I missing here?

Just based on inflation, something that cost $2500 in 1945 would cost $30,000 today. Could a PA-18 be built for 30K? Where is rise in cost coming from? I know the engine is going to be expensive and that is a big factor in driving the cost up but what else is making the cost so high?

Sorry for all the questions, I just want to get an idea of what I could build a Super Cub for?

Thanks
Travis