• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

SuperSport Special Rebuilt

Olibuilt

Montreal, Canada
I bought the plane 7 months ago. It originaly ad a o-235 in it. I came across a o-360 fwf so the tired little 0-235 came out. The plane is now in my garage in pieces.

Work to do:
-Sky light
-Bigger gas tank
-6'' landing gear and safety cable
-31'' BushWheel
-Install brake system
-maybe a removable third seat
-remove junk to spare some weight
-new instrument panel with artificial horizon and turn coordinator
-VG's
-flaps

when I bought it:

DSC00521.jpg

New firerwall foward and 6'' landing gear with cables

IMG_0483.jpg

Skylight progress... Looks like a jail. Need to remove all old tabs and tubes not needed.

IMG_0477.jpg

The real job are the wings...

I'm new to airplane and it's my first one. I wonder what to do. The ailerons are 102'' long. Only 63'' left for the flaps. The goal is to fly as slow as possible.

Need some recommandation for the built
-Flaps size?
-cut the ailerons 12'' for more flap surface?
-connect ailerons with flaps?

really need some advices PLEASE

IMG_0487.jpg

flaps

Oli why not get a set of slats from back country super cubs ?

Did some research. I think I will go with 90'' ailerons, with 75'' flaps 4'' extended cord, with a droop aileron kit with VG's.

I don't know about slats. How much and PITA to install??

If you are going thru all of that work, you might as well add the leading edge slats

The thing is I think flaps are a priority. On floats with no flaps with my wing setup, the takeoff speed was about 42mph... Never tried on wheels or skyys.

Who make the best affordable leading edge slat kit? But adding another 20 pounds or more??

Any buildup pics of slats on wings?

What about a droop aileron kit?