• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Another tall pilot looking for a plane!

jwalters

Hello SC!

Long time listener first time caller. I'm a private pilot who would like to get into a bush plane. At 6'8" and wide in the shoulders (former BIGTEN football player) I am having a heck of a time flying anything but C172/182's.

I've come to the conclusion that any aircraft I buy, I will have to make modifications to the cockpit to fit comfortably. So to my question:

Among the various Piper Cub lines and replicas, what would you recommend as a starting point for a guy like me? In other words, what would make the best platform for a big and tall pilot? Taking into account shoulder, leg and head room.

Husky, Cub Crafters w/ 4 inch wider body, Scout, PA-12, PA-18, C180, Piper Bushmaster, etc?

A little background, first off there is a big difference between a 6'4" pilot and a 6'8" pilot. My instructor was a few inches shorter than me, and he could fit in pretty much anything. But unfortunately, those extra 4 inches were great for football but not so much for flying!

My friends Cessna 195 is quite cramped and the yoke position didn't allow for even-close-to full deflection.

I've tried the Cessna 180's but they are an inch narrower than a 172 and 3 inches narrower than a Cessna 182. Believe it or not, 1 inch width makes a BIG difference when you are already crammed in there! I haven't sat in a C185 yet, I hear they are a bit wider, but they don't give them away either! :D
There's a Max Holste Broussard that fits pretty well, but well, just a bit large for my needs right now. :D