• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

What Type of Handheld Radio

On Patrol

BENEFACTOR
Wentworth NH" The WAD" NH96
Hi All,
For those that have experience lugging around Hand held radios what manufacturer and model would you advise. I need only for radio ops so a VOR function is not desirable. It appears from my limited exposure that battery problems seem to be major. I have bid on an ICOM on ebay but you never know how that will turn out. I see Sky Geek has a Vertex model not priced off the page. Please let me know what you think.
Thanks
John

Despite the horrible batteries and dreadful, byzantium programming logic I am still an ICOM fan.

I simply bought a small storage battery (5 amp) and wired it in and carry the programming instructions in the seatback to assist me on occasion.

ICOM

I have been using my A22 for over 10 years with no problems. I always use the alkaline battery pack and carry spare AA's because I don't like the clutter of an extra motorcycle battery and associated wiring. Most of the time I fly with ear plugs in and leave the radio in the back seat. When I do need the handheld I use the belt clip and attach it to the shoulder harness strap down where it connects to the lap belt. No push-to-talk switch, I use the one built into the handheld. With an external antenna I can communicate with aircraft 50 miles away. The VOR function is useless.

Jason

What's a VOR? :D
I use a really old Terra Blue Brick TPX720. It doubles as a wheel chock, boat anchor, door stop etc. They are dang near indestructible.

I have the ICOM A6, It is a good radio however it is very sensitive to RF interference and I get a lot of static.