• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Hot Starts

bob turner

I have a lot of experience with all things not injected. But the last four years with the Super D, I have discovered that I simply do not know what is really happening up there.

So far (knock on wood) she has always started hot, usually after I am sure I am spending the night right there. After 15 blades, she catches, then all the words and levers I have do not keep her going. Then another attempt. Often the "flood it, then starve it" routine works, but not without another anxiety attack by the guy strapped in -

The strange thing is, each engine seems to be just a bit different - jam the mixture in too quick and one will quit. Jam it in too slowly and another will quit. Yesterday I discovered that a hot start at 8000' density altitude still requires full rich to keep it going.

I'll tell you - if I was drifting in a seaplane while trying all this, I would be getting lots grayer lots quicker.

Sure - I should ask this on a forum where Decathlons are discussed, but you see, that forum is not visited by very many folks from year to year. You, my friends, probably have the most knowledge of such subjects.

I solicit your opinions and hints.

I hot start the worst of the worst one to two times a week. What happens with the lycoming Injected engines is the gas boil and vaporizes in the spider lines making hot starts very hard to predict. I use a technique for ten minutes later, thirty minutes later and then the guaranteed flood start which I prefer the best for anything after a short shutdown.