PDA

View Full Version : Live the Dreams! WV to CA in Dad's Super Cub

Mark Grubb
06-30-2007, 02:10 AM
My Dad has flown Cubs and SuperCubs for 50+ years as an aerial photographer of some renown (See GrubbPhoto.com for some of his work). This year, at the age of 82, he decided to hand over the keys to his aerial workhorse and his "best friend" to his son (that would be me), whom he taught to fly in the 1970's and ignited a love affair with flying that continues to this day. Dad had expressed a desire to fly to the west coast in his Cub for decades and it finally came to pass.

Needless to say, we had a blast and it truly is a trip of a lifetime! Dad flew every leg and I was navigator, radioman, and tour guide (I am a geologist by trade and have been trampling around the western USA since college)

Live Your Dreams!

Day 1. Bluefield, WV - Owensboro KY (fabulous BBQ 1 mile from the airport!). Owensboro - Ft Scott KS. Ft Scott is highly recommended! Super nice folks. Free hangar, free crew car (filled it with gas and tipped airport manager) for 2 entire days (stuck by WX), decent Mexican food.

Day 3. Ft Scott - Wichita, Wichita - La Junta, CO. Marginal VFR scud-running in eastern KS under the crud, around showers, and finally atop the scattered gloppy pouring rain cumulus in central KS to dodging medium-sized rain showers / CB's in eastern CO. The fields were flooded and creeks out of their banks! Quite different than my usual traverses across the Great Plains! The cows looked sort of happy - if they had a dry place to stand..... Flooded beef feedlots really do stink, though.

La Junta is highly recommended. Free crew car ($10 donation), interesting old Fort/Trading Post and great BBQ at the "Hog's Breath Tavern" in town.

La Junta - Leadville CO. Leadville is a must-stop for all Cub drivers! Watch that density altitude! Free crew car overnight ($20 donation - we did a lot of looking around) and great Mexican food at "The Grill".