• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

PA-11. Is it light sport legal/

barefoot

1350 duette rd, myakka-florida
[ I have a PA-11 that i want to restore. When i acquired it all the logs were missing along with the other paper work. All that i received was a registration which i had transferred. I am told that if i restore it from the ground up and have it inspected by the feds that i can start with new logs and a D.A.R. can issue a new airworthiness cert.
Does this sound right to you folks who know about these things?

The next biggie is the PA-11 LSA legal? what are the spects. of a PA-11 and where do i go to find out this information. I am just an old dumb a-- farmer and need all the help i can get!! So please feel free to share your imput with me.

what if I convert the 85c to an o-200. what will that do for me? the main objective is to keep it light sport if it is indeed in that category.

dar[/b]

The PA11 is LSA legal. You shouldn't need the FAA or a DAR unless you don't have the Airworthiness Certificate. There are no life limited parts on a PA11 so you can rebuild what you have and enter total times unknown. The C85 can produce as good if not better hp and torque that the O-200. Do a search on this site or contact Don Swords at Don's Dream Machines. He has a lot of data on the C85 with an O-200 crank and some other legal tricks to get hp and torque out of a C85.