• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Gross Weight

tempdoug

PATRON
nd
They say there isnt such thing as a dumb question, just inquisitive idiots so here goes. How do people actually determine gross weight of a airplane. Like when someone says there trying to get gross weight of a cub up to 2900lbs what determines how high it can be set? doug

As a teacher, I've learned that often the questions that seem the simplest are actually the deepest and hardest to answer, so don't apologize!

You may remember from high school science, that the force required to accelerate a thing is proportional to its weight. (Acceleration = rate of change of velocity. And to be precise, force is proportional to mass rather than weight, but the two work equally well for this purpose - so don't worry about the distinction).

Airplanes are certified to withstand certain accelerations in flight. Accordingly the forces required to accomplish those accelerations depend on the plane's weight.

Of course the airplane isn't a monolithic chunk, and each part exerts forces on other parts so that all the parts can accelerate together. Each part has to be able to sustain the forces necessary to accelerate the parts it's connected to.

Flight isn't the only consideration; the sudden accelerations of landing (my own landing accelerations are often LARGE) and rough ground must also be considered.

The accelerations are a given, resulting directly from flight and ground maneuvering events. So the required forces to accomplish those accelerations (and the required strength of components) then depends on weight. Too much weight = too much force to accomplish the acceleration for a given structural strength = structural overload and perhaps failure.

Does that answer?