• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

PA-11 muffler

George

Huntsville, AL
Found a crack on the right end flange of my muffler. Looks like its been repaired a time or two so I'm opting for a shop OH muffler.

I look at Wag, AWI, and Univar and I'm a bit perplexed.

Wag .... list repairs for LH stack and muffler OEM 10757-00 $407.50
AWI .... list OH'd LH stack and muffler assy OEM 12232-00 ?
Univar .... list piper muffler/no stack PN -12232-subm $612.23

I am new to the PA-11. Are the left stack and muffler one-piece. Univar implies that they are not and the muffler can be purchased separately (to be welded?).

Somebody please explain the PA-11 exhaust system before I make a big mistake. I have not taken the shroud off ... yet.

George, the shops around here, and the only experience i have is with Wag, they use another place called Dawley, i believe youll find it in a tradeaplane, its in Wisconsin. Try calling them. The left stack is welded on most to keep out a chance of exhaust gas in the cabin, but you can always do this. This is just my opinion. doug

I had a -11 last year with all exhaust bad. Wag returned all parts as unrepairable and said they had no approval to build. Tail pipe, muffler, R/h & L/H stacks were all separate parts. I had them reproduced as owner directed by Knisley Welding here in CA. Did a great job but was not cheap. I could not find a single piece over the counter at that time.

Thanks for the experience guys.

AWI needs the core and no guarantee that they can repair it.
Univar ... the stack and muffler unit is $1200. daham!

It looks like I'm going to the welding shop. George

Dawley quoted $946 for "owner directed" replacement. It would have been my second repair in 2 months so I'm going for the whole enchilada. Shipping it off today. Thanks again for your experience.