• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Firewall bushing measurements, + or - tolerance?

Marty57

PATRON
Nipomo, Ca
I am getting ready to weld in the four 1/2 x .058 bushings at the four corners of the tubes that will make up the firewall. The 2+2 plans call for the on center measurements of these 1/2" tubes to be 20 1/2" at the top . How much tolerance is there in the measurements? My distance from the left and right vertical tube is off, about 1/16-1/8". Looks like the on center of the two top bushings will be between 20 3/8" and 20 7/16". Is this a major problem? How much tolerance is there when mounting the engine mount later? This is uncharted waters for me and I do not want to re do the tubes if not needed but the engines mount needs to fit later. This is my first project so I don't know what is "good enough". The plans do not give a + or - tolerance regarding the location of the bushings. Any thoughts?

Thanks,
Marty

I'm at the same stage on my 12. If you have the engine mount you would fit the bushing locations to that, I would think, as close as possible to the drawing dimension. If you're going to build a mount you could make it to fit, however if the mount were ever to be replaced, then a factory built one might not fit?

I have the Piper drawing for PA12, and can check for tolerance, but it's not with me this weekend. I'll check Monday if the tolerance hasn't appeared here before then.

Here's a question for you - - what about the folded gussets at each corner, that the bushings weld to. Did you make them or were they part of a kit? I'm wondering if I can purchase them or if I have to whittle them out of sheet - - -

Gordon,