• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Rinnai Propane/gas heaters. Anyone have experience with em?

Alex Clark

Life Long Alaskan
I was thinking about using one in the guest pilot cabin. But I have no experience with them and don't klnow anyone who has. I was thinking about the little Rinnai 263 model.

Anyone know anything about these?

xx

I haven't used one of those , but I purchased the smallest TOYO stove a couple of yours ago...and put it into my guest cabin...works great and is trouble free as well as don't use much heating oil...used about 35-40 gal in the last two years...don't use it much in the winter...May-Mid Oct.

Ron
Copper Center

SBS sells the little Toyos here. I would have to haul fuel down into the woods in 5 gallon jerry jugs. I was thinking the Rinnai would let me haul 100 pound propane tanks down there in a sled. Plus be a little cleaner.

I have an old Monitor stove in my main house. It is just about ready to head up to oil stove heaven. I think I will replace it with a larger Toyo. Supposedly the new monitors are junk.

That is all I use in my home is the TOYO's...2700 SF...Larger Toyo up Stairs...Med one Down... My oil use in the house is 70-85 gal per month in the coldest part of winter here...You know it only gets down to -50 or 60 at times...the other nice thing about my Toyo's is that if one goes out in the house...I can grab the one from the guest cabin for back-up...had to do that once...

I haul the oil for my cabin in 5 gal cans...

Ron

I spent $700 getting my old Monitor fixed. What a waste of money. The house still smells like oil and exhaust gas. Now my oil/water serperator is leaking a little from my big tank. Finding a seeping fuel oil leak is really not that easy sometimes.

xx

Alex: