PDA

View Full Version : Question For all you gun experts

glassjet
03-15-2005, 01:49 PM
8)

WWhunter
03-15-2005, 02:18 PM
I'm no expert by any means, but I'd look at a revolver for survival use. In Alaska it would be .44 mag or larger. A .357 would be the absolute minimum. As far as keeping it in the plane all the time go with stainless steel. I've looked at the Highpoint and am not impressed. As in anything you get what you pay for.

Keith

Wannabe Cubdriver
03-15-2005, 03:14 PM
Do you mean bear defence survival or keeping yourself fed survival. If bears or nasties are a concern I would go no smaller than a .44, maybe even a .454 Casull or .480 Ruger. If you just wanted to keep critters in the stew pot, a .22 Mag should do the trick. But hey, Im in Canada and cannot carry a handgun in the woods, so my opinion is not well educated.
Like WWhunter says, you get what you pay for.
One thing about a handgun, practice practice practice. The tool is no value to you unless you are proficient in its use.
Cheers!

CraigH
03-15-2005, 03:20 PM
How about a Thomspon Contender with an extra barrel or two? .22 or .410 for rabbits and small birds, .44 or larger for big game?

StewartB
03-15-2005, 03:23 PM
I prefer my old Mossberg 12 gauge. It's not worth much, but it packs a wallop.

However, while hunting, I carry a S&W .44 mag in a chest holster when I'm in bear country, including when I'm packing a big pack and rifle. In close quarters, I can manipulate a pistol faster and easier than a scoped rifle. And with a 44 I can deliver 6 Cor Bon solid bullets accurately and quickly, with good recoil recovery from the previous shot. That's my gripe about the big single-action pistols that are so popular. They kick butt, but you'll likely get one shot, maybe two, in the time I can squeeze 6. The potential damage I can quickly inflict, even with a miss or two, is comforting.

SB

N3243A
03-15-2005, 03:23 PM