• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Combining two hobbies

Jon B.

Willmar, MN (KBDH)
As some of you may know, I'm in the process of restoring a '58 Champ after a major groundloop (I didn't do it!).

Older (Aeronca, mine's a Champion 7EC) Champs have, instead of a handgrip, on the stick, a wooden ball at the end. I decided to use the old-style ball, but install a foam bicycle grip below it, for additional control and comfort.

Anyway, my Champ has front and reat PTT push-button switched for the radio, and I needed a decent way to mount the switches. They sit on the end of each stick, so they need to be in the ball. I studied a bit and came up with what I think is a clever mount.

I took two .44 Magnum cases, removed the primers, and drilled the primer pocket and flash hole out to 1/4 inch. I then used a 3/8 inch drill to counter-bore the inside (.44 maggie brass has a *really* thick case head!) so that the threaded portion of the switch would protrude far enough to get the nut on. I also used a file to rough up the outside surface of the cases so that I could more easily glue them into the ball.

My father-in-law is going to turn the balls out of white oak, and bore them to accept the cases. I'll then poke them into the stick, secure them with a #6 screw, and have the coolest Champ in Minnesota. Really. It's true. If you don't believe me, just ask me. I'd never lie about something like this.

I also have to test my new avatar. The Champ shown isn't mine, but I like it one the less. Our very own Cubus Maximus shot the photo, and I got it by way of my older brother - the one with the Husky (sssshhhhhh).

Rats! I'm posting from home, and the photo for the avatar isn't on this machine. Aarrrggghhhh!

Jon B.
Champ 9857B - under construction

Champs? Huskys? Are you sure you aren't just baiting folks on this website?? :D