• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Glad I'm a pilot...

Marc Olson

GONE WEST
Seattle, WA
This is really just a musing about how being a pilot and plane owner opens up opportunities (and realities) that can create unique possibilities. Not really Cub related, except my mission was flown in my -12...

Some context. Six years ago my wife and I bought some land on an island in the San Juan Archipeligo in WA state. No ferries, utilities or services. One 1800' one-way grass airstrip. By AK or CAN standards, it's still civilization; we used a 23' Boston Whaler as our access method year 'round for 4 years. Two years ago my wife decided to spend summers at our place, so I began my flight training (a life-long goal). In '02 I earned my rating, in '03 I bought my -12 and just a week ago we started our '04 summer adventure with Jean and the boys leaving by boat for our place in the islands.

Yesterday while at work I received a call on my cell from my wife. One of our boys (fraternal twins, 8.5 years old) had fallen from a tree onto the beach. He couldn't move. What to do? Fortunately, she'd just taken a weekend wilderness first aid course, so she did all the right things. He could move all limbs, his head, vitals fine, good sensations. But, he hurt. Hard to tell if we should just let him shrug it off, or take him to the hospital, or have him medivaced off with some urgency. I headed for the airport, and called the nearby paramedics for consultation. Because I was 60 minutes away, they suggested flying over (10 minutes vs. my 60) to bring him to the local medical center.