• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Are You Building an Experimental Cub?

Are you building an Experimental Cub

• No way I'll stick with certified.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No I just like to read about them.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Steve Pierce said:
Who is building an Experimental Cub? What are you baseing your plane on and how far along are you?

I am just getting started. I just picked up my wing kit from Ernie at D&E yesterday.

On order: Spraker tack-welded fuselage, Wag-Aero balanced tail group kit (sans rudder).

Bugs

I completed a Cub look-a-like a year ago that I now have 150 hours on it. The wing is all wood with no flaps. The rest of it is close to a supercub design with a lot of my own modifications. It has a 0-320 and I couldn't be happier.

Currently started on the cub. Using Airframes, Inc. 4" wider fuselage, 3" extended gear, stabs, elevators, rudder, fin and struts. Using Scatter Creek Aircraft stamped ribs for the wing. D&E spars and flap and aileron extrusions. The cub is on the gear having made the cabane vee and lower shock struts. Made the rudder pedals and brake pedals. Piper seat and torque tube. Made the stick sockets and interconnect. Have made most of the control cable links. The floor boards, rear seat bottom and back are 3/8" carbon graphite honeycomb. Honeycomb floor board extends to the 180 lb third seat area the rest of the extended baggage will be aluminum. Firewall is roughed out along with the Instrument panel. Going to use a dynafocal mount O-320 with a crossover exhaust.

Matt

supercubc37 said: