• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

newbie - just started tailwheel training in the Super Cub

N74DV

I'm building a Pietenpol Aircamper (a taildragger) and am about 9 months from finishing. Time to get that tailwheel endorsement so I can build up some tailwheel time before that magnificent day of the first flight of my Aircamper!

I started training in a Super Cub out at Chandler Air Service in Chandler, AZ 4 days ago. I now have about 4 hours in it and I am beginning to like it. The first 3 hours had me wondering if I could catch on to this tailwheel thing but in the 4th hour something clicked and I am getting a good grasp on things. I managed 4 wheel landings today and only bounced on one of them.

I think I'm going to really enjoy taildraggers! I can see where being a good tailwheel pilot will help you be a good "nosedragger" pilot too.

Anyways.... just wanted to stop in and say hey.... now that I'll be flying Super Cubs for a while I figured I'd join the forum and learn all I can.

Welcome. I love flying Pietenpols. I have a project upstairs in my hanger. maybe I'll get to it after I finish my Clipper and L18C projects. Of course there is the Acro Sport project too. I have to many projects.

The EAA at our local grass field built a Piet as a project. They've had a good time flying it.

Spend some time reading the posts on this site: you will save yourself time and money. You will also get some great advice from a solid bunch of Cub aviators and make some good friends during your journey--sounds like you are enjoying the journey already.

well... it's been several months since my first post. I've got about 30 hours of SuperCub time now. The tailwheel sign-off went well.