• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Illustrated Guide to Aerodynamics

rrb

FRIEND
When I went for a biennial review recently my instructor suggested that if I wanted to gain a better understanding for some of the aerodynamics of aircraft that I read Skip Smith's An Illustrated Guide to Aerodynamics. A while back you may remember I was interested in the science between clipped wing cubs and the reduced parasitic drag and decreased lifting surface. Anyway I was just wondering if anyone had read through this book and if they found it helpful. I'm thinking I will finally get it soon.

I purchased this book about seven years ago when I was a student pilot and I thought it was an excellent book. Even now, as I am two months away from a degree in Aerospace Engineering, I still keep it on my shelf next to the "heavy hitters" for a quick and clear reference.

The book discusses everything you as a pilot would want to know about aerodynamics and why things happen as they do. It does not really go into the mathematics of it, but I think for the most part the qualitative analysis is better at that level anyways. It has a section for high-speed aerodynamics and some up-to-date developments if you are intrested aswell. For further reading I would recommend Anderson's "Introduction to Flight".

Combined with "Stick and Rudder" this book will help you get the most out an airplane.