• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Alaska vacation questions/advice

GreggB

East Boston
Hi all, I am a SC pilot wannabe, currently getting my tailwheel endorsement in a J3. This a non SC question but as many folks here are in alaska I thought it would be a good place to seek out advice. I've always wanted to fly to and around AK l My wife and I won airline tickets to AK. I would like to rent a plane when I'm up there a spam can would be fine as I'm not intending to go teach myself how to fly the bush I would just like to fly someplace interesting and away from the cruise ship clientile. Any advice on where to rent (probably out of anchorage?) and places to fly to (airports) we have the milepost and a bunch of tourist guides, was also wondering if the Alaska Logbook put out by the AK airmen is worthwhile.
Thanks,
Gregg

Gregg,

The Alaska Airmen's logbook is your best single source of information for flying to and in Alaska if you are unfamiliar. It will give you most of the basics as well as things to look out for that aren't in the supplement or on a sectional.

I've never rented an aircraft up here, but I would think that one of the flight schools in Anchorage would rent you a C-172 once you satisfy their checkout requirement. You might want to brush up on your mountain flying technique if you plan to do any sight seeing in the mountains. There are lots of one day flightseeing opportunities around Anchorage. Just pick a direction.