• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Buying a PA-12, what to look for?

Bill Rusk

BENEFACTOR
Sandpoint, Idaho
All

OK, I'm looking for a PA-12. There are a lot of mods out there and I don't have 100k, what should I look for? What are the most important mods and what are they worth? I have between 40 and 50K. Can I get a good PA-12 for this amount? I'm trying to build an airplane now so I need a flyer, and not a project, but I will be ready and willing to go through it in a couple of years and could recover and do some mods at that time. What do you guys think?

Bill

I just purchased a PA-12 two weeks ago for just a little more than the top of your range. This my first plane, as well as my first Piper, so I'm by no means an expert.

It came with the following mods:

Flaps
Extended wing tips
Crosswinds STOL leading edge
VGs
PA-18 tailfeathers
Float door
Welded float kit
Clevelands
O-320 engine
3" extended gear from A. Dodge
Was rebuilt in '99 with new fabric, paint and metalwork in frame
Radio, transponder and GPS

I added:
Shoulder harness
Intercom (had a battery powered one)
Sealed strut (on the side that didn't have it)
Remote oil filter

When I was looking, the O-320, flaps and tailfeathers were the important mods to have. I don't know the cost of the O-320, flaps were estimated at around 8K (depending on whether you already have the wing fabric off).

Also with the mods it's important to make sure that you have the right documentation. I spent two weeks tracking down holders of various STCs to get backup for a bunch of work that was done under 337s in AK. Several of the stated mods ('work done per STC blah blah blah') in fact were not done per the STC once I had the drawings and certificate. My IA is happy with the previous work (and it was already signed off once), so the additional documentation is just insurance.