• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

New guy, New Project,

cnagpilot

Corcoran Ca.
Hi Guys, I've got a 57 150hp 18A project I'm going to start on this winter
It hasn't been flown since 1963 and has about 780hrs TT and has been stored inside almost the whole time.
I've read through the BB here and am overwhelmed with Info!
I've seen mentioned an X mod in the upper structure and some sort of support brackets in the tail section but no real info on where or why
What I'd like to know is this-- What mods and updates do you guys recommend, I don't plan on becoming a bush pilot, I fly a turbine Thrush for a living, I just want a solid airplane to have some fun in and a few years down the road have something for my boys to learn in.

Thanks, I know you've answered all these questions about a hundred times

Chris

Chris,

Welcome. If you have not tired it all ready, be sure to try the "search" button at the top of the screen to try to find answers as well.

sj

Atlee Dodge for the X brace and tail brace. The X brace gives a good front shoulder harness mount, you will have to come up with something for a rear mount if it's still a stock A model. Keep the A model rear seat and run the floor boards the full cabin length. Concider Atlees extended baggage, it's simple and resonably priced. Build the plane as light as you can.

That's about it for a fun flier. There are many, many, many more modifications. I would advise to always remember your intended purpose for the plane. When concidering adding anything, always ask yourself, "Do I REALLY need this?"

If you intend to do a lot of off airport stuff, the list gets bigger, (mostly in the landing gear), but this is all bolt on stuff that you can always add easily after rebuild.

PS, I just reread your question, and I didn't answer why the braces should be put it.