• If You Are Having Trouble Logging In with Your Old Username and Password, Please use this Forgot Your Password link to get re-established.
  • Hey! Be sure to login or register!

Missing 300 RPMs

Rookie

WA
Saturday, I flew my O-320 powered Super Cub to Oregon, seeing about 2500 RPM at max throttle, along the whole way. I'm still learning about this plane, and this was my longest cross country flight in this plane to date, flying about 2 hours. I flew at 5500', and although I kept pulling the throttle back to bring down the RPMs, pretty much every time I stopped looking at the tach, I crept back up to 2500 RPM (I must be a bit ham fisted).

Anyhow, yesterday when I began the trip home, all I could get was 2200 RPMs. I flew to KLS, then OLM, but even after carb heat, max throttle only got 2200 RPMs. During the run up, the mag drops were normal, and carb heat operated properly. I decided to hope that it had something to do with the rain, and I did clear a bit of carb ice once, so maybe the 'at-mo-fere' was doing something I thought... I had to leave the plane at OLM because of weather, and when I brought it home today under a broken sunny and dry sky, I still couldn't get more than 2200. I'm starting to think something is probably wrong.

When I got home, I started to chat with the local mechanic Phil. He had some suggestions, but seemed too busy to have a look. He loaned me an electronic tach (thanks Phil!) and my mechanical tach checked out, max I got it to read electronically was 2250 RPMs. Phil suggested I examine the carb to verify that it was hitting the full throttle stop; it was. He also said I should verify no obstuctions on the air filter; I didn't take it apart, but nothing seen.